University of Nairobi

The University of Nairobi (UON) is the largest university in Kenya. Although its history as an educational institution goes back to 1956, it did not become an independent university until 1970 when the University of East Africa was split into three independent universities: Makerere University in Uganda, the University of Dar es Salaam in Tanzania, and the University of Nairobi.

The University of Nairobi is located in Kenya's capital Nairobi. All its campuses are located within the major towns in kenya with easy reach. University of Nairobi had remained for long the only university in kenya. The university is the largest in kenya witha student population of over 40,000 both undergraduate and post graduate. The University has limited accommodation for its students.

In view of the rapid expansion and complexities in administration, the university underwent a major restructuring in 1983 resulting in decentralization of the administration through the creation of six campus colleges headed by principals.

    * College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences (Upper Kabete Campus)
    * College of Architecture and Engineering (Main Campus)
    * College of Biological and Physical Sciences (Chiromo Campus)
    * College of Education and External Studies (Kikuyu Campus and Kenya science campus)
    * College of Health Sciences (Kenyatta National Hospital)
    * College of Humanities and Social Sciences (Main Campus)
    * College of Business ( Lower kabete cumpus)
The university is dividend into the following schools and faculties:

    * Centre For Biotechnology & Bioinformatics
    * Centre For Hiv Prevention And Research
    * Centre For Open And Distance Learning
    * Faculty Of Agriculture
    * Faculty Of Arts
    * Faculty Of Veterinary Medicine
    * Institute For Development Studies
    * Institute Of Anthropology, Gender & African Studies
    * Institute Of Diplomacy And International Studies
    * Institute Of Nuclear Science & Technology
    * Institute Of Tropical & Infectious Diseases (Unitid)
    * Kenya Science Campus
    * Population Studies And Research Institute
    * School Of Law
    * School Of Medicine
    * School Of Biological Sciences
    * School Of Business
    * School Of Computing And Informatics
    * School Of Continuing And Distance Education
    * School Of Dental Sciences
    * School Of Economics
    * School Of Education
    * School Of Engineering
    * School Of Journalism
    * School Of Mathematics
    * School Of Nursing Sciences
    * School Of Pharmacy
    * School Of Physical Sciences
    * School Of The Arts And Design
    * School Of The Built Environment
    * The Wangari Maathai Institute For Peace And Environmental Studies
    * Board Of Post Graduate Studies
    * Center For International Programmes & Links

Courses Offered at university of Nairobi