Kenyatta University

Kenyatta University,

Located in Nairobi, Kenyatta University is the second largest public university in the country (after University of Nairobi). The University is located in Kahawa, about 20 kilometres (12 mi) from Nairobi's city centre, along the Nairobi-Thika road.

The university has expansive land of 1,100 acres and admitted its first batch of students to degree program in 1972, at that time being a constituent college of University of Nairobi. It was made a fully fledged university in 1985. The university has on-site accommodation hostels at its main campus and at the other campuses, students have to seek alternative accommodation. Kenyatta University has a well equipped library that has more than 300,000 volumes of books and bound periodicals, current journals, magazines and dailies. It also boasts of thousands of e-journals. Kenyatta university is one of the fastest growing public universities with the student population of over 32,000.

The university is dividend into several schools and departments:

School of Humanities And Social Sciences
    * Philosophy and Religious Studies Dept.
    * English & Linguistics Department
    * Foreign Languages Department
    * Geography Department
    * History, Archaeology and Political Studies Department
    * Kiswahili & African Languages Dept.
    * Literature Department
    * Sociology Department
    * Psychology Department
    * Department of Gender and Development

School of Visual And Performing Arts
    * Theatre Arts and Film Technology Dept.
    * Department of Music
    * Fine Art Department

School of Education
    * Educational Psychology Department
    * Educational Management Policy & Curriculum Studies Dept.
    * Educational Communication & Technology Dept.
    * Educational Foundations Dept.
    * Library & Information Science Department
    * Early Childhood Studies Department
    * Special Education Department

School of Pure And Applied Sciences
    * Biochemistry and Biotechnology Department
    * Chemistry Department
    * Mathematics Dept.
    * Department of Plant and Microbial Sciences
    * Department of Zoological Sciences
    * Physics Department
    * Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences

School of Engineering And Technology
    * Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
    * Energy Engineering,
    * Water and Environmental Engineering
    * Electronics Engineering
    * Computing & Information Technology.

School of Environmental Studies
    * Environmental Planning and Management Department.
    * Environmental Science Dept.
    * Environmental Studies and Community Development Department

School of Applied Human Sciences
    * Fashion, Design & Marketing Department.
    * Community Resource Management and Extension Dept.
    * Physical and Health Education Dept
    * Foods, Nutrition & Dietetics Department
    * Recreation Management & Exercise Science Department

School of Health Sciences
    * Nursing Department.
    * Pathology Department
    * Pre-clinical Sciences Department
    * Public Health Department
    * Department of Pharmacy & Complementary/Alternative Medicine

School of Business
    * Business Administration Dept.
    * Management Science Dept.
    * Accounting and Finance Department

School of Economics
    * Department of Applied Economics
    * Department of Econometrics & Statistics
    * Department of Economic Theory

School of Agriculture And Enterprise Development
    * Agricultural Resources Management (ARM) Department.
    * Environmental Sciences
    * Agribusiness Management and Trade (AMT) Department
    * Agricultural Sciences and Technology Department

School of Law
    * Department of Public Law
    * Department of Private Law
    * Department of Commercial Law
    * Department of International Law

School of Hospitality & Tourism
    * Department of Tourism Management
    * Department of Hospitality Management

Kenyatta University is continually expanding and has opened additional campuses apart from its main campus. The campuses include:

City Campus

Located at the heart of Nairobi City, Haile Sellasie avenue, to cater for the growing number of students in the city center.

Parklands Campus
Located in Parklands near Nairobi city Center: This campus offers business and I.T. related course at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. The campus also offers LL.B. (Bachelors of Law)
Ruiru Campus
This campus is located at Ruiru town, less than five kilometers from the main campus. It is generally an extension of the main campus. This campus does not offer the full range of subjects offered at the main campus.
Mombasa Campus
This campus is situated in Mombasa town along the coastal strip of Kenya. It began operation in May 2007.  

Kitui Campus
It began operation in October 2007. It is among the smaller campuses. It is currently among the most fast developing campuses of Kenyatta University due to the increasing number of student admission. The campus is found along Machakos-Kitui road a place known as Kwavonza..
Kericho Campus
This campus is located in Kericho Town. It is also among the smaller campuses. The major course being offered in this campus is Education.
The current chancellor is Justice (Rtd) Onesimus Mutungi installed in December 2010 and the Vice Chancellor is Prof. Olive Mugenda, who is the first female vice chancellor of a public university in Kenya. Under the vice chancellor, there are three deputy vice chancellors and three registrars.
Vice Chancellor
    * Vice chancellor: Prof. Olive Mugenda

Deputy Vice Chancellors
    * DVC Academic: Prof. John Okumu
    * DVC Administration: Prof. P.K. Wainaina
    * DVC Finance, Planning and Development: Prof. Daniel N. Mugendi

    * Registrar Academic: Dr. Daniel M. Muindi
    * Registrar Administration: Prof. Godfrey Mse
    * Registrar Finance, Planning and Development: Dr. Nelson Karagu

Dean of Students
    * Dr. Edwin Gimonde

Director, Open Distance & e-Learning

    * Dr. Speranza Ndege